Crazy Hot-feels like I’m swimming…Setting Goals is inspired…Amazingly Giving Ward…

I loved skyping home on Christmas and seeing ya’ll!  Normally I get pretty distracted after skyping home, but this time it was just right back to work.  Hard to believe that will be the last time I Skype home on my mission.  Time flies.  No time has ever gone faster than while I have been in Florida serving the Lord.  Wow, every day I feel so amazed with how trusted we are with EVERYTHING.  Doctrine and Covenants 88:73

https://www.lds.org/scriptures/dc-testament/dc/88?lang=eng

To whom much is given much is required.  Happy New Year! 2015 soon.   Time to set some goals.  President Uchtdorf said, “You don’t need an invitation before you start moving in the direction of your righteous goals.  You don’t need to wait for permission to become the person you were designed to be.”

This week has been a great week, full of memorable miracles and tender mercies.  I’ll share a few with you:

#1.  Setting goals in Golden Hour:  Wow! Goal setting is inspired.  We don’t always reach the goal that we set of people to teach or people to talk to but it pushes us just that much further.  We set a goal of talking to 10 people yesterday.  As we were out we wanted to reach that goal.  We were looking for people to talk to to make that goal.  There was a man biking past and Sister H—- spoke up and yelled, “Hello! Can we give you a card?”  He stopped and we talked to him for about 15 minutes about the restoration and invited him to church.  He said right before biking our way back from playing basketball he had prayed that he would find direction in his life.  He committed to come to Family Home Evening tonight!

#2.  Developing Christ-like attributes:  Towards the middle of my mission, I gave up on trying to develop these Christ like attributes because I noticed …life got hard when I started praying for them.  I started praying for Charity and set some goals of things that I would do daily so I could measure my progress.  About a month in I gave up and didn’t even notice it as giving up.  I just stopped praying for charity and forgot my q-card of goals.  I forgot about the all over goal of happiness and got lost in the little goals and at all the ways I had failed.  These past two months I’ve started working on Patience.  I set goals and I am working on them.  Throughout the day I remind myself when I am having troubles, “How can I exercise patience here and be happy?”  It changes everything.  I am nowhere near as patient as I would like to be, but I have grown.  These Christ-like attributes of Patience, Charity, Humility, Diligence, and Obedience are gifts that can be given us by God, but they are contingent on us asking for them.  I asked myself, “How much time have I wasted avoiding the tough things?”  It is amazing what our Father does with us if we simply ask for His help.

Anyways, Florida is crazy hot lately.  It feels like I’m swimming.  Wish y’all a Happy New Year!  We have an amazingly giving Ward here.  They literally give missionaries everything!  It is amazing.  A lady we didn’t even know today bought our groceries and much more… Love, Sister Winkler
Leave a Reply

