Temple worthy…Happy Thanksgiving…I Often Go Walking…I will listen to the Spirit…

We scrambled Thursday trying to get a member to come out with us to the lesson with S______.  Sister Nance, our bishop’s wife ended up coming and she and S_____’s wife ended up clicking.  The lesson went well, but there is more clarity when both husband and wife are involved in the discussions for sure.  I will listen to the Spirit.  Since being on my mission, I am more cautious about the situations I put myself in.

We are helping a lady in our ward through the repentance process.  She has trouble with smoking and it holds her back from preparing for the temple.  She is very strong.  We are meeting her again tonight.  She watched General Conference and we will follow up on the inspiration she received.

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/watch/2014/10?lang=eng&vid=3820979006001

She had texted us after Conference saying that she had a new resolve to quit and “stay on the boat.”  I love her so much!  Her son has terminal cancer and she is a convert.  Her son wants to serve a mission.  They are such a fun family.  She has been giving us referrals.  One of them is R________.  She is the one who is afraid to read the Book of Mormon.

The scriptures have been the best source of help to me this past week, in answer to the questions from persons we have been teaching.  You know, with helping them to find the answers to their OWN questions.  I have focused on asking questions that are more inspired as we can often get into the routine of simply asking the same things over and over again.  You can know if it is an inspired question if you don’t know what their answer will be, or aren’t aiming for a specific answer.  

I am not sure I am a big fan of the dubbing over persons who would prefer to speak in their native non-English voices at Conference, but it is fair.

http://www.mormontabernaclechoir.org/videos/i-often-go-walking?lang=eng

I love you so.  I keep getting the song: “I often go walking…” from the Children Hymnbook stuck in my head.  I am sure  my companion is annoyed with me singing it by now.  Making princess dresses sound great when I get home.  Crazy to think that is six months from now.  Clifton and Zack will get home at about the same time as each other in May.

Cassie on trip to Italy and Greece

 I am sure Cassie will be happy about that!

 Just so my non-Canadian friends know…On Thursday, January 31, 1957 the Parliament of Canada proclaimed: “A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed-to be observed on the second Monday in October.”  Happy Thanksgiving and love to all from Sister Angelina Winkler

Leave a Reply

