He is finishing our faith…MYTHBUSTERS…The Lord was answering our prayers all along..

Elder D.Todd Christofferson came to Georgia.  He gave the missionaries a time to just ask him questions.  One  missionary asked, “How do we press forward when we don’t feel like our prayers are being answered?”  His response was, “You just keep going forward and things will work out.  Eventually you will be able to look back and see how the Lord was answering your prayers all along.”

Brother Brad Wilcox told it this way:  “There is a man in a hot desert who sees a fountain at the top of the hill.  With great effort he climbs the hill and receives the life-giving water.  What saved him?  Was it the climb, (his works) or was it the water, (the enabling power)?  THINK ABOUT THAT!  What we need to understand is the extent to which He goes to enable us to press forward.  The water may be at the top of the hill, but that is not where Christ is.  He comes down to the bottom of the hill and brings water to us.  That is how we  make the climb to the top.  He knows it will strengthen us and be for our best good.  Christ is not waiting for us at the finish line, He is finishing our faith.  The enabling power is not the prize at the end of the climb.  It is the power throughout the climb.”

As a companionship we look forward to the good days when my companion is well.  This week we have had some great days doing service.  I am studying and learning much.  I feel assured that I will look back shortly and really appreciate how this situation has changed (hopefully improved) me.  For now I have the strongest desire to go out and teach and baptize, and that I cannot do right now.   I loved that about us all needing to be congruent in all settings.  It is so easy to overlook your morals, especially when you have not defined what it is that you will or will not do in your life.  In each area with each companion setting a vision as to what you look forward to achieving and then working towards that.  It helps so much to see where you are headed.  Without vision we just walk in a circle.  They showed that on MYTHBUSTERS one time where they had a guy walk a straight line without any reference point and he ended up walking in BIG circles, but when he had a

reference point (the mountains…ie: Christ, The Commandments), he walked in a straight line. There is a lady in our ward who is amazing, seriously amazing and I love her sooo much.  This week we/she did lots of service!

photo 3 (1)

I love the bike.  The lights on it help cause it’s starting to get dark super early.  I shall send you a photo of that bike beauty!  Love Love Love You!  Sister Angelina Winkler

2 thoughts on “He is finishing our faith…MYTHBUSTERS…The Lord was answering our prayers all along..

  1. What an incredible week of learning you’ve had! I love the connection you’ve made with Christ and the commandments being our focal point so we don’t walk in circles!
    I hope your companion gets well soon!

  2. Your smile says it all .
    “Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me learn from you and love you, bless you before you depart. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. Let me hold you while I may, for it may not always be so. One day I shall dig my nails into the earth, or bury my face in the pillow, or stretch myself taut or raise my hands to the sky and want more than all the world, your return.” Mary Jean Iron
    It is apparent you are living your fullest each day and with a smile…
    Just a normal day—-what a gift…
    Susan Byers and family

Leave a Reply

