Just go Read and Pray…Hydrate…Family Search Fan Chart…Miracles…He is the Trainer in Our Companionship…

We had this amazing experience this past week.  We had been out finding and had walked by and talked to this younger girl who was very interested in The Book of Mormon as she was studying religion in her school.  Anyway, we taught how the Book of Mormon is there as a Testament that Christ really did come to visit us.

We gave her a Book of Mormon and challenged her to pray and ask God and to call us no matter what her answer.  She was about 14 years of age so she didn’t feel comfortable giving us her  phone number.  We prayed for her along with a list of all the people we had given Books of Mormon to over the past few weeks.  And no reply.  In the neighbourhood we went by to to see a former gator and she told us she was busy.  So, we dropped the family history bomb and it just exploded and she was super interested in my fan chart.  She’s from China so she told us all about her family history and how it interests her.  We ended up talking about

https://familysearch.org/tree/#section=fan

The Book of Mormon and she tells us her daughter had come home with one some nights ago and has been reading it!!! She was the girl we had given The Book of Mormon to and prayed for.  Point being the Spirit of Elijah is real!  We wouldn’t have found out about her daughter unless we had talked about family history.  She committed to come on a Wednesday night in July.

We had another trying week, we did really well numbers wise and had some great lessons.  It is just amazing that way.  It has just been tough lately.  Gainesville is hard, we have been walking alot.  Keeping hydrated is a big deal though.  We walked for 5 miles the other day because we were stranded out of our area.  Just little things like that keep coming up and I just need my sleep each night so bad!!  This week has been so hard my body hurts. hahaha  Last night we were biking in the rain and we just sang loud the whole time.  We ended up finding a new investigator, and taught her all about Eternal Families.  She believes in Eternal Famalies already but there were some new things about judgement and the three degrees of Glory that were new to her.  A lot of people find the three degrees of glory really interesting because it’s very specific to our religion yet it comes directly from  the Bible.

Hmm…What else this week?  I’ll try and keep the rest of this short, but things have  been getting alot better.  Sister M——— and I get along for the most part.  There is a much of compromise in our companionship as there is in every one but it has been hard.  I love her so much and she has such comprehension of the gospel.  We just butt heads sometimes.  I think beginnings are always the hardest.  I don’t think she views me as her trainer so doesn’t really respect the way I go about to lovingly correct.  Sometimes she is just yelling at me and I don’t even get why.  She has medicine that causes some challenges for her at times.  I smile and try to keep light-hearted about it.  Some of it is from pride on both our parts.  It is hard trying to figure someone out and also keep the peace.

 Personal study and prayer have been my biggest guide lately.  The Book of Mormon has a story about what I am going through and somehow it’s always right there where I am reading.   We talk about what’s happening and our “fights” in companion study but by the time we get to it I’ve had my heart softened and I’ve been corrected and I’m able to to step back and either point out how silly it is or how we can resolve it.  I am going to use this in the future when I am in the same scenario.  Just go read and pray.   I LOVE being a missionary!!  It’s awesome best times!!  Love you lots.  Sister Winkler

Leave a Reply

